Skip to content

Violin Sonata No.1 in A, HWV 361

9 min.

composed by Handel

This piece is commonly known as Violin Sonata No.1, which is Sonata III in Handel-Werkausgabe (1886) edited by Friedrich Chrysander (1826-1901). This score is based on Handel-Werkausgabe (1886). This sonata is originally for Violin Solo and bass-continuo, which is usually played by Violin, Violoncello & Keyword, however, it is very fascinating to play it as a duet of Violin & Violoncello. Players would enjoy a dialogue between two parts.

I. Andante


II. Allegro


III. Adagio


IV. Vivace

Score & part notes