Skip to content

Trio Sonata in c

12 min.

composed by Quantz

Jean Baptiste Loeillet (John of London 1680-1730) was a Baroque composer born in Belgium. He played flute, oboe, and harpsichord. There are at least three composers named “Loeillet”. They are brothers and cousins each other. He moved to London, so he is called as “John of London”. Their works have been sometimes confused. Brian Priestman has written an index of their works based on his research. This piece is one of 12 sonatas, which is Op.2 by John of London and also “Priestman X”. It consists of 6 sonatas for two violins & B.C., 3 sonatas for two flutes & B.C., and 3 sonatas for Flute, Oboe & B.C. This piece consists of four movements; I. Largo, II. Allegro, III. Adagio, and IV. Allegro. Very beautiful and refined work.

I. Andante moderato


II. Allegro


III. Larghetto


IV. Vivace

Score & part notes