Skip to content

Adagio from String Symphony No.8, in D, MWV N8

5 min.

composed by Mendelssohn

Felix Mendelssohn composed 12 string symphonies when he was between 12 and 14 years old. Among them, No.8 is one of the most popular symphony, which was arranged for full orchestra by himself. Movement II, Adagio, is very special. It is played by only four instruments, three violas and bass. Very beautiful and attractive piece.

Score & part notes