Skip to content

String Quartet in d, D.810 ‘”Der Tod und das Madchen”

14 min.

composed by Schubert

Franz Schubert composed this piece a few years before his death. This is one of his representative works. Movement-II is a variation based on the theme of his lied, ‘Der Tod und das Madchen’. Using the rustic theme, following variations are so beautiful and rich in variety. Exquisitely matched obbligato played by first violin is worthy of special mention.

II. Andante con moto

Score & part notes