Skip to content

La Sultane, Soande eu Quatuor

12 min.

composed by Couperin

“La Sultane” means a princess in the Islamic world, however, it is not clear what princess Couperin imagined. It was originally written for two dessuses, two violes and bass-continuo. Maybe the bass-continuo part was played by Couperin using a cembalo in the royal palace concerts. It consists of four moements; I. Gravement, II. Gayment, III. Air: Tendrement, IV. Legerement-Vicement. It is beautiful with grief and spiritualization, and a representative work of instrumental music by Couperin.

I. Gravement


II. Gayment


III. Tendrement


IV. Legerement/Vicement

Score & part notes