Skip to content

Violin Sonata No.4 in D, HWV 371

12 min.

composed by Handel

This piece is commonly known as Violin Sonata No.4, which is Sonata XIII in Handel-Werkausgabe (1886) edited by Friedrich Chrysander (1826-1901). This score is based on Handel-Werkausgabe (1886). This sonata is originally for Violin Solo and bass-continuo, which is usually played by Violin, Violoncello & Keyword, however, it is very fascinating to play it as a duet. Players would enjoy a dialogue between two parts.

I. (Adagio)


II. Allegro


III. Larghetto


IV. Allegro

Score & part notes