Skip to content

Music for the Royal Fireworks, HWV 351

8 min.

composed by Handel

The Music for the Royal Fireworks (HWV 351) was composed by George Frideric Handel (1685-1759) in 1749 for the fireworks in London’s Green Park. It was to celebrate the end of the War of the Austrian Succession (1740-1748).
The numbers of players were notified in the score of the overture as follows.
›Trumpet I (3), Trumpet II (3), Trumpet III (3),
›Timpani (3),
›Horn I (3), Horn II (3), Horn III (3),
›Oboe I (12), Oboe II (12), Oboe III (4),
›Bassoon I (8), Bassoon II (4).
Oboe I part is with Violin I, Oboe II with Violin II, Oboe III with Viola, Bassoon I with
Violoncello and Contrabass, and Bassoon II with Contra Bassoon.

It is said that George II of Great Britain’s assignment was to use only wind instruments, however, Handel wanted to use strings. There are several different scores of the overture. It is supposed that the original scores were arranged by Handel himself.

This score is based on Handel-Werkausgabe (1886) which was edited by Friedrich Chrysander (1826-1901).
The Royal Fireworks consists of six movements;
I. Ouverture,
II. Bourree (without brass instruments),
III. La Paix,
IV. La Rejouissance,
V. Menuet I (without brass instruments),
VI. Menuet II.

I. Ouverture



Handel: Music for the Royal Fireworks HWV.351 I. Ouverture Music thumbnail
Score & part notes


II. Bourree (without brass instruments)

Handel: Music for the Royal Fireworks HWV.351 II. Bourree Music thumbnail
Score & part notes


III. La Paix

Score & part notes


IV. La Rejouissance



V. Menuet I (without brass instruments)

Score & part notes (free)


VI. Menuet II