Skip to content

Fantasiestucke, Op.88

composed by Schumann

Piano Trio in A Minor, Op.88, “Fantasiestucke” was composed by Robert Schumann (1810-1856) in 1842. It consists of four movements, and the movement III, “Duett”, is remarkably impassioned. As the title suggests, the music is like a romantic story played by two solo instruments. The conversation by the tow changes its nuances phrase to phrase which leads up to a tragedy. Players will be forced to imagine what is happening in the story.

III. Duett

4 min.
Score & part notes